Darwin’s Great-Great-Granddaughter Speaks.

The New Zealand Herald has an article by the great-great-granddaughter of Charles Darwin:

Why celebrate the 200th birthday of a great scientist who touched flowers like a child? I am no scientist, but I am among Charles Darwin’s enormous number of great-great-grandchildren and, to me, his overwhelming feature is his humanity.
In his thousands of letters (now online at http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk), you see everywhere his energetic curiosity about every life form, and his wonder at all complexity, which I suspect that his granddaughter, my grandmother Nora Barlow, then transmitted both to my mother and to all of us children.

Read the complete Ruth Padel article here.

Ruth Padel is a poet, and her book, Darwin – A life in Poems, will be released February 9th.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

